Thomas Leuthard | a famous Street Photographer from Switzerland

While I was in Mumbai, my hotel was located close to the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus railway station. I went there every day as I’m fascinated by such places. The Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus is a very busy station with more than 3 millions of people passing through every day. One morning I realised that there is a passage in the middle of the station right between the local trains on the right and the long distance trains on the left. The light before 8am was excellent and it was not that crowded. So I waited on that spot until there was just one person walking into the scene. Although I had to come back more than once and totally had to wait 30 minutes, it was worth the time to get this moment captured. There are still people believing it’s not possible to capture a single person on this busy railway station.

Bombay #7

I was in Yerevan, the capital of Armenia, in summer 2011. We went to the railway station there as well. The station was nearly empty and there was an old train standing there. My curiosity told me to enter it just to see what’s inside. I had no clue about when it will depart, in one second, one minute, one hour or not at all. Entering the train made me see a similar scene than outside. Nearly complete emptiness, but very old an interesting furniture and one lady sitting looking at me. I quickly took 2-3 just shots leaving the wagon shortly after. At home I looked at this photo and was not sure, if I should upload it, because it was not completely sharp. I still did and realised that this was one of my best shot, no matter about the image quality.

.
Leaving Yerevan...

Leaving Yerevan…

It happened at the end of trip to Hamburg, Germany. We were on the way back to the hotel, waiting for the train, when suddenly a nicely dressed man appeared on the track. I was sure that I had to frame him. Since he was standing in the front of the track he gave a perfect silhouette. I only had to ensure that his hat is not covered by the clock and the nobody else enters the scene. I had quite some time to take the shot and I was more than pleased when the train arrive. I was instantly sure this was one of my best shot at that time and still is today.

Hitchcock

Hitchcock

more about his works, you can follow in HERE…

please dont hesitate to shoot some questions…

~Have a happy reading!~

7 thoughts on “Thomas Leuthard | a famous Street Photographer from Switzerland

if you like the post, send us the love

